Green Heart

It's my life and I'm trying to live it healthy, happy and enviromentaly friendly.

Recycle and reuse

on February 5, 2012

Ok, so most of us are trying to recycle most of the things; plastic, paper, aluminium cans, batteries and all other stuff. That’s great, keep on doing it.

But what if we could reuse items or even make them better as they are? These days I got the need to sew. I don’t know why, I just really wanted it. So I went to the shop and bought myself a sewing set. I’m lucky that my aunt is dressmaker, so she has all these small parts of fabrics lying around her studio. So I asked her to give me some of these pieces that she doesn’t need and that would find their way to the garbage sooner or later.

And here I am, sewing things… I made a tiny textile bag and a sort of textile flower (that looks really awesome as a decoration on my curtain). My new project is a necklace, but I’m still working on it.

So, what’s my point with this blog? I’m trying to let you know that you can recycle and reuse things that would otherwise end up on a refuse dump. In my case, I’m reusing fabric, that isn’t recyclable at all! But many people do great stuff with plastic bottles, jars, aluminium cans, broken electronics and everything else you can imagine.

Take some time, be creative and make something useful and beautiful with things you have laying around. Not to mention that this is really great thing to do with your kids. You teach them to recycle and encourage their creativity and you get to spend some quality time with them. That’s what my family did when I was a kid and I can’t thank them enough for that. It’s great!

Here are some great links that might give you some boost. And I’ll post some photos of the things I’m making when I’ll finish them.

www.marthastewart.com

craftzine.com

diyreuse.com

Leave a Reply

