Green Heart

It's my life and I'm trying to live it healthy, happy and enviromentaly friendly.

Vampire power

on January 29, 2012

I came across great article about electrical devices that still consume a lot of energy when they are pluged-in. You can check the original article on www.ecogreen4us.com.
Also here is the video about it.

I know about these vampires for a long time and I unplug my mobile phone charger every time I don’t need it. Let’s face it, we really use these chargers about twice a week, so I’d say we use them for 2-4 hours per week, which means there is still 164-166 hours left that charger is pluged-in for nothing. And it still consumes electrical power, little by little and in the end you have a lot!

But I have to admit, I never even thought about unpluging the tv or my laptop. My laptop is usually pluged-in, especially when I’m not using it, because I leave it to charge. I unplug tv only when there is a storm or when I leave home for few days. I guess we all do that… So from now on, I’ll unplug tv cable when I don’t need it. Like it’s that hard to just grab it and pull it out. =)

I’d also like to warn you about small kitchen appliances like toasters, shakers, juicers, microwaves and other things like that. Unplug them when they are not in use, especially if you don’t use them daily! In fact, I don’t know why don’t we unplug all the things that we don’t use daily! Let’s save some energy, save the planet and our wallets! =)

Leave a Reply

