Green Heart

It's my life and I'm trying to live it healthy, happy and enviromentaly friendly.

Other food of the day – Tofu

on January 28, 2012

I often hear people say that tofu tastes awful and that they really can’t eat it. I said that too when I tried it for the first time. But why this occurs? Because we don’t know how to make it good! Usually if nobody tells us how to prepare tofu to make it tasty, we just eat it the way it is, the way we buy it in store. And it’s true; tofu in this kind of shape really doesn’t taste well. It’s almost tasteless and the structure of it is something like eating soap or I don’t know what. So yes, it’s weird. =)

But some time later I met tofu again… This time, it was prepared like a steak, it looked like a steak, it almost smelled like a steak and it almost taste like a steak! I was amazed how this could be tofu?! So… then I learned that if you use some vegeta (vegetable stock) and some shoyu (soy) sauce it tastes great!

And how do you prepare it?
Well it’s simple. Just use a pan, add some olive oil (you don’t need much) and put tofu cut on slices on. Then add some vegetable stock (again, you don’t need much) and pour some shoyu sauce over it (once again, not too much, few drops on every piece of tofu it’s ok) and wait for it to get some color. Turn it around once, so it gets cooked on the other side as well and that’s it. You’re done with this in like 5 minutes or so. And you can eat it with any side dish you want. It’s really great substitute for steak.

And what exactly is tofu anyway?
Tofu is actually made of soy. It’s made by coagulating soy milk and then pressing the resulting curds into soft white blocks. source But try to buy tofu that is not gmo (Genetically modified organism), because that is very often the case when it comes to soy. Keep that in mind when buying other soy products as well.

3 responses to “Other food of the day – Tofu

  1. Izzy says:

    One thing my husband often have discussed about tofu is this:

    There’s only 1 meat on the planet that people don’t typically season – beef. It’s the only meat that actually tastes good on it’s own. But everything else requires proper seasoning, proper cooking methods, etc. So if I’d had steamed chicken the first time I ever had it, I’d think it was disgusting.

    Season your tofu, cook it right and grill it and it’s mighty tasty!

    • Anja says:

      Izzy – thanks for your comment! =D And your right, if you don’t put anything on the meat and try to eat it it’s disgusting! You have to put some spices on to make it good, at least salt! I remember when I was a meat-eater and I forgot to put salt on the chicken… Ewwwwwww! =D

  2. kat says:

    Mmm I love tofu! This looks great!

Leave a Reply

